The New Pod, Some 90’s Nostalgia, and the Fear of a New American Century

A few updates from Chaz Bolte central, the secret headquarters of all things mildly OK tucked in the pines near the quarry lake in Slippery Rock, PA.  Wait….. no, that’s not where it is, don’t look for me there, it’s somewhere else.

Anyway, the new podcast is still working out the bugs.  I recorded an episode and it just wasn’t right.  There were many problems with it, so I didn’t release it.  Most of all I noticed that having only one host makes for boring listening.  So to remedy that scenario I am pleased to announce that I will have a co-host, the one and only Greg Ernzer.

With some new technology on board and with a new direction this thing will be off the ground in no time.  Of course that is also what they said about the space shuttle Challenger.

On Super Bowl sunday I released the first of many essays about the 90’s, what they mean, what life means, and what we as a generation should try to remember about them.  It got a little bit of discussion going on Facebook, but was mostly swallowed up and lost in the media mess that is the Super Bowl.  To be honest I did it on purpose.  I kind of want to limit the discussion on this one, because too much feedback from people I didn’t want feedback from would stop me from moving forward.  I really hate hearing from people who have dumb things to say.  This got some good discussion going so I will continue, and the next essay will likely be up over the weekend.

Tonight is the New Hampshire primaries.  I have completely kept my voice out of the election cycle, all though let’s be honest: this is what I was born to write about.

I am not allowed to write about the things I would like to write about due to the people who pay me to write about the things I am forced to write about .  However without naming names, well I guess I have to name a name, I have to admit the scariest candidate of all to me is Marco Rubio. He is basically the republican Obama.  he seems dangerously inexperienced.  He scares the shit out of me.  His campaign slogan is seriously “A New American Century.”  As in the thinktank piece written in the late 90’s by the neo-con’s who made up the Bush Administration that said the only way conservative goals could be achieved was with a “new Pearl Harbor.”  The cover of the report showed the Twin Towers with a target on it and an airplane flying into the buildings.  It was written before 9/11.  Most of the power players in the period between 9/11 and the march to war in Iraw wrote it.  It’s scary stuff.  Rubio either knowingly or unknowingly is using this as his theme.  I seriously wonder who controls him, because he just seems to be a robot on repeat.

So let’s see what happens tonight in New Hampshire.  Let’s see if his moment in the sun is over.  Because he is some scary sauce in a sea of scary sauces, and I don’t like babies or sauces, I’m not G. Love.

Leave a Reply

