The Truth About Cats and Dogs: Steelers Fans Reaction to the Mike Vick Signing

So Mike Vick now plays for the Steelers and everyone has an opinion, and they are all entitled to that opinion, an equal amount as everyone is to have an opinion on said opinion…and so on, and so on.  This is a subject in which I immediately have this feeling maybe I shouldn’t touch on, so I will make it short and sweet.

Michael-Vick1My first reaction was that it was a bad signing due to the distraction it would bring.  People are going to be upset, and they really, really are.  The few points I’ll leave out but feel as if should be mentioned are that, as noted by Marky Billson of Athlon Sports, that this is not the first time the Steelers have had a player of questionable character on the team.  In fact take a look at our starting quarterback and the questionable things he has done in his past.

There is also something to be said about the argument that Mike Vick isn’t really all that good anymore, which is likely true, but I don’t think many people actually want to see him play, because that would mean Ben was hurt. Backup quarterbacks are backups for a reason.

So let’s make this little article about Steelers fans reaction to the signing and how not surprisingly myopic it was.

First of all… I do not condone Mike Vick’s actions.  I think they were way past the grey, wavy, spotted line of moral and immoral, but let’s be honest he went to jail, he did his time, and his life has been completely ruined.  As far as we know he’s never done it again, but that doesn’t mean anyone has to forgive him. To each their own.  They can do as they please.

In trying to piece together my thoughts I had a moment of clarity in a Facebook post from future DECA contributor CJ Johnson who simply wrote:

I’m going to say this and leave it alone.

I hope, one day, someone is able to grant you forgiveness and the opportunity to redeem yourself. No matter what you’ve done. No matter whom you’ve hurt, I hope you’re granted that gift.

‪#‎thatsamightyfinelookinhighhorse‬

People of Pittsburgh, I’m sure that you are all perfect human beings unlike me.  I’m sure you’ve never made a regrettable decision and you never will.  Personally I’ve made a few mistakes a long the way, including one major mistake that I won’t bring up but you may be familiar with if you know me well enough.  What I learned from that mistake is that you have to apologize and admit that you were wrong, not only for your action but for the pain and embarrassment it caused others, and if you are lucky you will be forgiven.

Perhaps not by everyone, but by the people closest to you.  You take that forgiveness and use the positive energy to ensure you never repeat your actions.  It makes you think differently about life.  It makes you realize that you don’t need to be the one pointing out others flaws.  We are all flawed individuals, its OK.  You just got to try to be a little better each day.

If you are in the camp of you will never forgive Mike Vick that is fine. That is your right to be that way.  Dog fighting is deplorable.  It is truly sickening.

If you are in the camp of you are never going to forgive the Steelers for signing Vick I per-forgive you for your hypocrisy.  It is all right.  We all get worked up from time to time and say things we don’t mean.  Some of the worst things I have ever said have been to the people I love the most.  Thank gosh for forgiveness, eh?  Or I would be quite a lonely gentleman.

In general football players are kind of immoral. The NFL is immoral.  Until earlier this year it was a multi-billion dollar worldwide industry that enjoyed tax exempt status.  You want to get on your high horse?  Get angry about that.  Seriously, just think about that for a brief moment.

What about the children?  Well…. if you’re a parent who allows your child to make professional athletes role models than that is on you, not the athlete, when your child becomes disappointed in their actions.  Believe me, I was Mark McGwire’s biggest fan as a young one. Lesson learned.

I’m not saying you have to forgive Mike Vick, I’m not saying you have to like him.  However you did forgive Big Ben, and what is the difference between the two? Hmmm….

I just hope when you make your big mistake in life you get to experience the forgiveness Mike Vick never will, because it will make you a stronger person. And really life is too short to get worked up about the backup quarterback of your favorite football team.

Leave a Reply

