The Game: 2013 NL Wild Card Game: Pirates vs. Reds

Where were you when Johnny Cueto dropped the ball?  Where were you when that fan almost blew it for us?

This game, more than any Pirate game I can remember, reaffirmed my faith and gave me a reassurance that I had done the correct thing by sticking with the team throughout their 20 year losing streak.   I remember watching the game at Spencer’s in Park Slope because I had no television or way to watch it at the time.  I walked down there and started at the bar on 5th that serves cheap drinks.  I watched the pregame there.  I was so nervous.  I felt like I was going ot have a heart attack.  The stress that I had felt during Penguins and Steelers playoff runs was nothing compared to this.  I knew I was about to watch history.  It was the realization of a day I had hoped for well over a decade. I always wanted to watch the Pirates in the playoffs as an adult.  Now I could.  So, here we go: The Game.

Leave a Reply

